To give and not to count the cost

image1

For those who know me, you know my love of travel and adventure. I believe there is so much more that I can see, discover, learn and re-lean outside the four walls of my comfort zone. For quite some time now, I am setting a part of my salary for my travel funds because I want explore the world when I still have the time, energy and resources. Last week, my mom and I are talking when she casually shared me about the financial struggle of someone who is close to our heart. Upon hearing it, my heart is swelling and before my mind can process her sharing, I heard my heart say, “Girl, you have a spare money to share.”

To be honest, I was taken aback because it is not my obligation to give. That money is reserved for something else and I feel like my mind, my body and my soul needs a vacation plus the fact that I am planning that out-of-the-country vacation since the beginning of the year. My mind is telling my heart that, “I feel like I am generous enough. I always give more than what is needed, now why bother to give up your travel funds?” and something like, “But I need that vacation, doesn’t God know that? If he does, why is He asking me to do this?”.

Days passed and the struggle continues. I talked to my two best friends who I know will support and pushed me to go for my decision to give up my travel fund to help that person. As I was talking to them, I said to them, “All the while, I thought my promise to the Lord to give my time, talent and treasure is unshakable but unfortunately, my grip on wealth this time was showing me otherwise.”

It was hard to give that sum of money but when I finally resolved to give it all, fully convinced that it was the right thing to do. With one of our chit-chat, I was telling Him, “Lord, you really want me to have a meaningful and memorable journey with you this Lenten season.” Because this is what this season is all about: to remember and reflect the mission and love of Jesus through fasting, repentance, moderation, self-denial and spiritual discipline. The Lord really test my commitment to Him by asking to give up something in my capacity for the greater good.

Thank you Lord for making the start of this Lenten season a personal and a memorable one. My heart is so full right now. I prayed that not only during the Lenten season but all throughout the season of my life, to always be generous; to not only give the bare minimum but to be give the grace to go the extra mile. Amen!

Leave a Reply

