Lord, What’s Next?

Where do you usually go when you want to sneak away to so you can reset? If you want to clear your head? For me that’s near an open space – an oval track or an ocean. Last weekend after so long, I’m able to go near the ocean. I just sat down, soaked myself on the heat of the sun, listened to the waves and the wind. Then I started to pray. I have been feeling more anxious lately about what is “next”. There have been some chapters of my life that have been finished over the last few months (relationships, service, work, etc.) and even though I am certain that there are many exciting opportunities that will come up in the future – God placed me here right now; in a season of not knowing what lies ahead – in the season of waiting for what is next.

As I was praying, I asked for Him to clearly show me what it is He wants me to do next. But as I was praying, the Lord breathed new life into my prayer. Instead of asking Him to “show me what’s next”, my thoughts redirected me to reflect and just utter a “thank you” for Him. As I utter thank you to Him for all those beautiful chapter that closes, I can’t help but grin – as always, He switch my anxiousness to gratefulness by transforming my “show me what’s next” to “help me to be thankful for where you’ve placed me right now”.

As I am eagerly asking the Lord what’s next for me, He returned another question for me that is “Why are you so eager for the next season of my life? Why are you constantly looking ahead? Why don’t you want TODAY? Don’t you think I have my reasons to put humps on our way to slow down your journey and embrace me on the season of waiting?

It’s not all about moving forward to get into your destination. It’s about being here – savoring every step of the journey – even though sometimes that means waiting. Even though sometimes that means unanswered prayers. Even though sometimes that means patience. And all times, that means trust.

If you’re in a place of waiting or a holding period, here is what you need to do: BE THERE. Allow the Lord to give you peace in your heart knowing He’s got all the details already figured out. Because this season can be the season where all the healing will happen. Maybe this is the season that all the pride, the stubbornness and the division of the past will be gone. Replace that anxiousness with gratitude instead. Even in the hardest, loneliest, and longest seasons, determine something you can be grateful for inside of it. Be still – the Lord knows what’s next and the two of you will get there. But right now, He wants you to be present and enjoy the goodness of where and who He’s placed in front of you now! So, take a few minutes to reset and see how much goodness God has provided for you in the now, RIGHT WHERE YOU’RE AT.

Leave a comment